Our Borderless Jesus

This one is because I left my church so full and inspired so here I am about to tell ya’ll about it STAY TUNED!!!!!!!

I grew up in a tiny 2 stoplight town in Chapel Hill, Tn (the second stoplight is very new.)

I am a hometown girl, Chapel Hill is where I grew up, thrived, got a southern accent i tried to hide, and found out who I was.

However, my OTHER home is my congregation in Antioch, Tennessee. Antioch is known as a rough part of Nashville that is integrated and whose crime rate is going up. But this place taught me all about my faith in action. My youth minister called me Miley Cyrus (Hannah Montana Miley- not Wrecking Ball Miley). My friends dissed my country little town and thought how funny it was that my family drives 45 minutes to church every Sunday and Wednesday…

BUT LET ME JUST TELL YOU WHY WE DO.

Recap:

It was Bilingual Sunday, there were two song leaders on stage. With every verse to every song it was repeated in Spanish. I heard pretty voices dripping Jesus off their tounges and rolling their R’s with every verse.

We did everything in English and Spanish. All of Gods people worshipping the SAME God in different languages.

I was sitting there in real tears. 

I wish I had the words to describe what was happening inside !!!

Our preacher said “The family of God must be drawn together, this world does not need one more picture of division.”

Ephesians 2:13-15  But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ. For he himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by setting aside in his flesh the law with its commands and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making PEACE.

I play soccer at Freed Hardeman University with people from South Africa, Ireland, Costa Rica, Canada, Spain, and Jamaica.

When I see my Canadian friend give her life to Jesus at our church, or hear my sweet South African teammate speak in her beautiful accent about being a Christian I see clearly how our God is Borderless.FullSizeRender-1.jpg

This summer I was a church camp counselor to 5 hispanic girls who were all at camp to learn the exact same thing: about our God. Borderless. FullSizeRender.jpg

 

“After this I looked, and behold, a great multitude that no one could number, from every nation, from all tribes and peoples and languages, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, with palm branches in their hands, and crying out with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!” -Revelation 7:9-10

Basically what i’m trying to get across over here is that Jesus is our ultimate Rosetta Stone.

So if you’ve got a raspy southern accent from Tennessee, or my name rolls off of your tongue because you are one of my campers who was born in Mexico- we all have common ground in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 2:10-11

That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

mucho amor,

Sierra

 

One thought on “Our Borderless Jesus

  1. I am still having trouble finding words to describe how incredible yesterday was. Thank you for sharing these scriptures and reminding us that in God’s family there are no borders.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment